March 2017 News

LS By-polls 2017: NC-Congress Opt For Seat-sharing

14 March 2017
Kashmir Observer

Srinagar: National Conference and Congress have decided that the two parties will contest parliament by-polls together through seat sharing arrangement in the Kashmir valley. While NC president Dr Farooq Abdullah will contest from Srinagar, Congress state president G A Mir will contest from Anantnag Lok Sabha seat, party sources said. The two parties Tuesday held a meeting in which they decided to contest polls together on seat sharing arrangement. Sources said that senior leaders of NC including its general secretary Ali Muhammad Sagar, former ministers Choudhary Muhammad Ramzan, Sakina Itoo, and provincial president Nasir Aslam Wani and senior leaders of Congress including JKPCC Chief G A Mir, former minister Taj Mohiuddin besides others held meeting today and decided to go for pre-poll alliance on seat sharing basis.Confirming the development, JKPCC chief G A Mir said that both the parties have decided to go for pre-poll alliance to defeat its opponents in the by-polls. The two parties will announce the decision formally in a press conference tomorrow (Wednesday) noon. NC provisional president Nasir Aslam Wani also confirmed that the two parties will contest elections together. Meanwhile as expected PDP has decided to field Tasaduq Mufti, brother of Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti from Anantnag constituency and Nazir Khan of Beeru will be party candidate for Srinagar parliamentary seat. Confirming this PDP senior leader and PWD minister Naeem Akhtar said that the party has decided to field Tasaduq Mufti from Anantnag and Nazir Khan from Srinagar for the parliament by-elections.Akhtar said that the government will provide security and peaceful atmosphere during the polls to the contesting candidates, campaigners and voters. The Anantnag seat fell vacant after Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti, who represented the constituency in the Lok Sabha, resigned on July 4 last year following her election to the Legislative Assembly. Meanwhile, Srinagar parliamentary seat fell vacant in September last year after ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) leader Tariq Hamid Karra resigned from Lok Sabha and party membership. Karra later joined Congress.