March 2017 News

27 Lakh Voters Registered For Anantnag, Srinagar By-poll

10 March 2017
Kashmir Reader

Jammu: Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Shantmanu on Friday sought maximum participation of voters in the bye-elections to parliamentary constituencies of Srinagar and Anantnag scheduled for April 9 and April 12, 2017. The CEO informed that the notification for Srinagar and Anantnag parliamentary constituencies would be issued on March 14 and March 17, 2017 respectively while the last date for filing nominations has been fixed as March 21 and March 24, 2017 respectively. The scrutiny of nominations would be done on March 22 and March 27, 2017 respectively while as the candidates can withdraw their nominations till March 24 and March 29, 2017 respectively, the CEO added. The CEO informed that counting of votes would be held on April 15, 2017 and the election process would be completed on April 16, 2017. The model code of conduct came into force in seven districts of both the parliamentary constituencies on March 9 to ensure that bye-elections can be conducted in free and fair manner, he added. The CEO said Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) would be used for conducting these bye-polls and all steps have been taken to ensure that the bye-polls are conducted smoothly with the help of these machines. Shantmanu said that approximately 27 lakh voters will cast their vote in these bye-elections and special polling stations have been setup at Jammu, Udhampur and Delhi for more than 73,000 migrant voters, he added. The CEO informed that deputy commissioners of Srinagar and Anantnag have been nominated as Returning Officers for their respective constituencies. He appealed the electors of both the parliamentary constituencies to ensure their maximum participation in the bye-polls for strengthening the democratic setup in the State.