February 2001 News

Cong accuses NC of using muscle power in Panchayat elections

2 February 2001
The Daily Excelsior
Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU: The Pradesh Congress Committee has expressed shock and grief over the situation arisen out of the massive earthquake in Gujarat wherein thousands of people have lost their lives and lakhs of souls are still under debris and lakhs of human beings have been injured and rendered homeless. In a press release issued here today, PCC expressed its heartfelt sympathies with all the sufferers and appealed to the public to extend every possible help and contribute liberally for the relief. The party units upto the block levels have also been requested to be liberal for this national cause. While welcoming peace process initiated in the state and further extension of the unilateral cease-fire by Central Government, Congress said that dialogue was the only solution of all such vexed problems but such parleys should always be meaningful and result oriented. The process, sofar, conducted has been proved meaningless, purposeless and direction less. The release further stated that further extension of unilateral cease-fire seems to be last chance of public endurance and patience. PCC accused ruling National Conference of using muscles power and mis-use of official machinery, wrong delimitation of Panchayat Halqas which has compelled the people to boycott the election at several places. PCC urged the election authority to re-notify and conduct elections in such areas after rectifying the anomalies thereof. Mr Mohammed Shafi Qureshi, president of the PCC while addressing the meeting of the Congress workers paid tributes to the Gujarat earthquake victims and appealed to the workers to rise to the occasion and take steps for every possible help towards the relief work. He also congratulated the Sarpanches and Panches and hoped that they will dedicate their services for the rural development of their respective areas. Mr Gulchain Singh Charak, Rafiq Sadiq, Gurmukh Singh, Hari Singh, Dharam Pal Sharma, Swaran Lata, Abdul Vakil, Muzaffar Beg M N Koul, Mehmooda Ali Shah, Mula Ram, Lal Mohammed Sabir, Pardhuman Singh, Om Chopra, Farida Munir, Rajiv Saraf, Baldev Sharma, Vinod Sharma, Anil Chopra, Manmohan Singh, Maheshwar Singh, Hans Raj Bhagat, Nek Mohd, Hafiz Wani and Manohar Singh.


Return to the Archives 2001 Index Page

Return to Home Page